Being A Newbie To Graphics

Creating and selling graphics is one of my favorite ways of making money online. It is very fun, I get to work when I want to, I get to make whatever I want to. I can chose to be complex, artistic, and take my time, or I can chose to swiftly produce multiple simple files, which is what I usually go for.Why? Because sadly my friends that’s what sells over complex art. You can still make sales from complex art but it will be very minimal compared to that which is simple.

From what I’ve seen so far I think a lot of those who sell graphics on the microstock agencies are actually professional graphics artists. Me? I’m a hobbyist that started on this road since last year at the end of summer. So I am still fairly new to graphics. Therefore, this blog that I will be creating posts on will be from a perspective of a new hobbyist and I will be sharing my learning experiences with all of you! In this article (my first article) I will be discussing why (assuming you’re serious about selling graphics art) I highly suggest using Adobe Illustrator.

The first program that I used to create graphics was Inkscape, obviously because it”s free. But the program was fun & easy to use. Especially the pencil tool for drawing. It works sort of like the pen tool in illustrator but it’s completely free handed. And you can create completed paths easily with it. Whereas the pen tool, which takes quite a bit of time to get used to, you have to click/click-drag to create completed paths. Inkscape was a great tool to use but there were drawbacks. If I used any gradients, or especially gradients with transparency I would end up with a raster (bitmap) issue wit the vector eps file. Those of you who are pro know what this means. Pretty much the EPS is useless unless you can fix the errors.You can in Illustrator, but Inkscape can’t open EPS files. Now I have heard that you can download ghostscript to open eps files in Inkscape. But I tried that and followed all the instructions and for some reason it didn’t work for me.

So I downloaded the trial version of illustrator opened the vectors and saw the raster issues. Seeing these made me very frustrated! This pretty much forced me to open the SVG files instead. And there was another issue but it’s pretty small compared to raster. The gradients weren’t showing up correctly. I had to re-do almost all the gradients in many of my files and save them as EPS files. took quite a while. I had maybe 30~40 images to fix. But I finished all my files and even played with the tools on Illustrator, creating more files. I grew very fond of the program very quickly though the pen tool frustrated me at first. There were far more tools in this program than there were in Inkscape. Many different nifty things to do with graphics and it made the whole experience of creating graphics much more fun. Some of my favorite tools are the twirl tool, the many different brushes to play with, the stamp tool, and I absolutely love how easy it is to create art and pattern brushes! I liked this program so much I asked for it for Christmas, and voila, I can create all the graphics I want without having so many issues! And whenever I do have any issues I can just go back into the program and fix it.

Leave a Reply

